Posted on

Safewell Daily Content update 7/09/20

https://therivardreport.com/younger-san-antonians-contract-coronavirus-at-higher-rates-heres-why-experts-are-worried/

WHO: Indoor airborne spread of coronavirus possible

https://therivardreport.com/san-antonio-health-officials-have-a-plan-for-maxed-out-hospitals/

Masks will be mandatory in many Texas schools when they reopen this fall, education agency says

Nearly 14% of new U.S. COVID-19 cases are recorded in Texas

KSAT Explains: How pandemic has struck San Antonio’s economy and road to recovery

COVID-19 numbers in Bexar County:

1. Mask Order

The Executive Order mandates the wearing of a face covering over the nose and mouth when inside a commercial entity or other building, or when in an outdoor public space wherever it is not feasible to maintain six feet of distance from another person not in the same household. The following exceptions apply:

  • For any person younger than 10 years of age
  • Due to a medical condition or disability
  • While consuming food or drink or is seated at a restaurant to eat or drink
  • When exercising outdoors and maintaining a safe distance from other people not in the same household
  • When driving or with passengers of the same household as the driver
  • When obtaining a service that requires temporary removal of the face covering for security or screening such as while visiting a bank or obtaining personal-care involving the face
  • While in a pool, lake or similar body of water
  • While voting, assisting a voter, serving as a poll watcher or actively administering an election, but a face covering is still strongly encouraged
  • Religious worship, but wearing a face covering is strongly encouraged
  • While giving a speech for broadcast
  • When in a county that has minimal cases found at Texas Division of Emergency Management

Specifically, not excepted is any person attending a protest or demonstration involving more than 10 people and who is not practicing safe social distancing from other people not in the same household.

Following a verbal or written warning for a first-time violator, a person’s second violation shall be punishable by a fine not to exceed $250. Each subsequent violation shall be punishable by a fine not to exceed $250.

No law enforcement official may jail any person for a violation of this order; however, a law enforcement official may act to enforce trespass laws to remove violators at the request of a business establishment.

2. Proclamation

Governor Abbott’s proclamation prohibits gathering in groups of more than 10 and requires social distancing from those not in your group. The gathering prohibition lists following exceptions:

  1. Any services listed by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) in its Guidance on the Essential Critical Infrastructure Workforce
  2. Religions services
  3. Local government operations
  4. Child-care services
  5. Youth camps
  6. Recreational sports programs for youths and adults
  7. Professional, collegiate, or similar sporting events
  8. Swimming pools
  9. Water parks
  10. Museums and libraries
  11. Zoos, aquariums, natural caverns, and similar facilities
  12. Rodeos and equestrian events
  13. Amusement parks and carnivals